×

Big Ten releases schedule for conference play, PSU opens with Michigan

From staff reports

ROSEMONT, Ill. — Penn State men’s basketball will open its 20-game Big Ten Conference season with three league games in December, beginning with a road trip to Ann Arbor on Sunday, Dec. 13.

Tip times and broadcast designations for league games will be released at a later date.

The Nittany Lions’ slate features home-and-home meetings with seven teams: preseason No. 7 Wisconsin, No. 8 Illinois, No. 23 Ohio State, Maryland, No. 25 Michigan, Nebraska and Purdue. Penn State will play six single games against Indiana, No. 5 Iowa, No. 13 Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern and No. 24 Rutgers.

After facing the No. 25 Wolverines on Dec. 13 and a break for finals, the Nittany Lions play host to Illinois on Wednesday, Dec. 23. The calendar year closes with Penn State at Indiana on Wednesday, Dec. 30.

The Nittany Lions open the new year at the Bryce Jordan Center against the Badgers on Sunday, Jan. 3. The schedule has the Nittany Lions playing three of their first four contests at home in 2021. After a Wednesday, Jan. 6 trip to Ohio State, PSU will have its return game with Michigan on Saturday, Jan. 9 with Rutgers also at home on Tuesday, Jan. 12.

The Nittany Lions trek to the Midwest for two-straight games at Purdue on Sunday, Jan. 17 and Illinois on Wednesday, Jan. 20. Following a Saturday home game vs. Northwestern on Jan. 23, Penn State travels to Nebraska on Saturday, Jan. 30.

February opens with a Tuesday, Feb. 2 game at Wisconsin with a home game vs. Maryland (Friday, Feb. 5 or Saturday, Feb. 6). After a Tuesday night tilt at Michigan State on Feb. 9, the Nittany Lions return to the BJC for two games, vs. Nebraska on Sunday, Feb. 14 and vs. Ohio State on Thursday, Feb. 18.

A Sunday, Feb. 21 trip to Iowa marks Penn State’s only meeting vs. the Hawkeyes in the regular season. A date will be set for Purdue’s trip to the BJC with Friday, Feb. 26 or Saturday, Feb. 27 as the options.

Minnesota and Penn State have their only matchup of 2020-21 on Wednesday, March 3 in the BJC. The final regular-season game is scheduled for Sunday, March 7 at Maryland.

Also released today were times and broadcast information Penn State’s two December nonconference home games. The Wednesday, Dec. 2 contest vs. VCU will tip at 5 p.m. and will be carried by FS1 and the Sunday, Dec. 6 game vs. Seton Hall is scheduled for 8 p.m. on the Big Ten Network.

NEWSLETTER

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
   

COMMENTS

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today