Weader named MVP

MILROY — Otis Riden, the President of the Mifflin County Babe Ruth League, has announced the winners of the regular season awards for 2022.

Named the Most Valuable Player for the 2022 season was Belltown’s Max Weader. Weader is a 15-year-old, who helped Belltown win the 2022 Mifflin County title.

Weader hit. 452 with six doubles and a triple. He also was an effective pitcher for Belltown as he pitched 28.3 innings and had 17 strikeouts. Weader was used mostly in relief as he was Belltown’s closer.

This marks the 50th year for the MVP award. Winning the first one was Burnham’s Steve Wilson in 1973.

Weader becomes just the fifth Belltown player to be named the MVP. The last one to win it was Ross Underhill in 2014. Other Belltown winners were Jason Cavanaugh, 1996; Tim Hook, 1974 and Mike Erb, who was tied for the award in 1988.

Reedsville’s Madden Weaver was named the Outstanding Pitcher and also won the league’s batting title.

Weaver, a 14-year-old, was the first 14-year-old from Reedsville to win the batting crown. Reedsville has had six other players win the batting award. The last one was Devon Pearson in 2005.

Weaver hit .537 as he was 29-for-54. He had six extra base hits, five doubles and a home run. He is just the eighth 14-year-old to win the batting title.

The batting trophy is the oldest award in the league as it was started in 1970 and this is the 53rd year for the award.

As a pitcher, Weaver was 4-1 with one save. He worked 33.6 innings, struck out 64 and walked just 20. He gave up only 17 hits. Weaver’s WHIP was 1.10. He started six games for Reedsville and pitched in nine of the 18 games.

This marks the second year in a row that a Reedsville pitcher won the Outstanding Pitching Award. Last year, Aidan Reed was named the top pitcher in the league.

Weaver is the seventh Reedsville hurler to gain the honor. He is just the seventh 14-year-old to win the award, since it was started in 1974. Reedsville’s only other 14-year-old winner was Mike Kauffman, who tied for the award in 1975.

Named the winner of the John Howe-Damon Beaston Sportsmanship award was Aidan Arnold, a 15-year-old, from Strodes Mills.

Also being honored is the Belltown team which won the league title for only the third time in team history. Belltown went 15-3 and was managed by John Pannizzo. His coaches were Marc Attivo, Keith Baker and Corey Hall.

The players were Aidan Attivo, Kaden Baker, Kyle Baker, Logan Bumgardner, Reese Christine, Peyton Kearns, Easton Lepley, Jacob Parker-Fultz, Tristin Pent, Logan Ruth, Kyle Shirk, Anthony Siracusa and Max Weader.

The award ceremony will take place after the Mifflin County 14-year-olds return from the World Series.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.92/week.

Subscribe Today