Mifflin County BR sets record

MILROY–The Mifflin County Babe Ruth League holds numerous records throughout its history in the state of Pennsylvania. Mifflin County has the most state titles (24), state runners-up (24), teams in the state finals (48), times in the state’s final four (78) and most appearances in the Mid-Atlanitc Regional (27), just to name a few.

Now, Mifflin County can add another one to its list; most consecutive regular seasons in a row. Mifflin County has hit the 66 seasons mark.

Mifflin County joined Babe Ruth baseball in 1955 and is the fourth-oldest league in the state.

But, due to the COVID-19, some leagues failed to have a regular season this summer. Pennsbury was the oldest league in the state (1952) and was followed by Phoenixville (1953) and Valley of Hazleton (1953). Those leagues did not register with Babe Ruth headquarters in Trenton, NJ to have an official league this summer.

The other league that was tied with Mifflin County, McKean County, dropped out of Babe Ruth years ago.

According to the State Commissioner Jim Winder of Williamsport, the only leagues that registered through Trenton in Pennsylvania this year were Altoona, West End of Williamsport, Lock Haven, Scranton, Centre County (Milesburg), Broomall-Newtown and Mifflin County.

Broomall is another one of the oldest leagues in the state, as it started play in 1957.

In doing research for the Pennsylvania Babe Ruth league this fall, a new statistic that we came up with was the Individual Award Winners in World Series play for Pennsylvania.

The state has had only six individaul winners since Babe Ruth was started in 1952.

The top two awards that are handed out after the series is played is the Most Outstanding Player and the Batting Champion of the series.

Pennsylvania has won six awards and half of them belong to Mifflin County.

In 2016, at the 13-year-old World Series in Ottumwva, Iowa, Casey Conner was named the Most Outstanding Player and also won the batting title. He was the first Pennsylvania player to win a batting title in the history of the Babe Ruth World Series.

Two years later, Mifflin County’s Bryce Dobson won th 15-year-old batting title in Longview, Wa. in that World Series. Dobson was the first Pennsylvania player to win the batting title in a 15-year-old World Series.

The other three winners occured when Levittown’s Andy Bedekovic won the Most Outstanding Player award in the 2002 13-year-old World Series. He became the first Pennsylvania player to win either award at a World Series.

Broomall-Newtown’s Scott Hahn was the Most Outstanding Player in 2014 at the 15-year-old World Series and in 2019, Broomall’s Alex Bruno won the 14-year-old batting title at his respective World Series.

Pennsylvania has produced 10 teams that made the national finals and only four have won the World Series; Levittown, 13-year-olds in 2002, Broomall-Newtown, 13-year-olds and 15-year-olds in 2014 and Mifflin County 13-year-olds in 2016.

On the local level, the league has added another statistic concerning ‘Great Runs’ by a manager.

A ‘Great Run’ is defined as a number of seasons in a row with a winning record.

To get a better view of how a good a manager has done, the seasons were broken down into three year spans.

Two active managers made the top ten list. McVeytown’s Justin Yoder is ranked fourth for the period of 2016-2018. His record for those years was a combined 65-12 (.844)

Belleville’s Bill Corbin placed on the rankings twice. From 1986 to 1988, Belleville had a 68-14 (.829) mark to place seventh. Then from 2004-2006, Corbin guided his team’s to a 58-13 record (.816), which placed him ninth for those three years.

The top two spots belong to Lewistown’s Bernie Howard from 2008-2010 and from 2011-2013 during the Lewistown dynasty.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today