Kibe, Bodtorf headline Husky awards

Annual awards banquet took virtual format

Sentinel file photo
Mifflin County’s Trey Kibe wins his second Rod Tate Award, which is presented annually to the school’s top wrestler.

LEWISTOWN — The ninth annual Husky Athletic Awards banquet took on a new format on Wednesday night as COVID-19 forced the awards ceremony to be pre-recorded and broadcast from the Mifflin County High School media room on its athletic website and live on MCTV on Comcast and Nittany Media.

“We wanted to come together to celebrate our athletes for the 2019-2020 season,” Mifflin County High School Athletic Director Tish Maclay said. “It has certainly been a different time for all of us. We miss the student-athletes, we miss seeing everyone compete and the sportsmanship and camaraderie that is part of athletics, which makes athletics great.”

The seven major sports awards — the Alex Ufema Award, the Riden/Hockenbrock Award, the Tish Maclay Award, The Jenna Feathers Award, the Rothrock/Webber Award, the Jaynee Carolus Award and the Rod Tate Award — are presented annually to each of the corresponding sports’ top athlete.

The Husky club presents the Riden/Hockenbrock, Tish Maclay and Jaynee Carolus awards, while Big Lewie Radio presents the Alex Ufema, Rod Tate, Rothrock/Webber and Jenna Feathers awards.

Nominees are voted on by local media, including The Sentinel and representatives of the Mifflin County High School athletic department. Each voter chose three candidates, with points awarded to first, second and third-place vote recipients and the award going to the athlete with the highest vote total.

Sentinel file photo
Mifflin County’s Brianna Bodtorf wins the Jenna Feathers Award, which is given annually to the school’s best girls basketball player.

Trey Kibe was named the winner of the 2020 Rod Tate Award, which is presented annually to Mifflin County High School’s best wrestler. The award marked the second year in a row that Kibe has won the award.

Nic Allison finished second in the voting while Ethan Kauffman took third.

Kibe finished his junior season with a record of 38-4. Kibe won his third District 6 Class 3A title, his second Northwest Regional championship and earned a fourth-place finish at the PIAA Championships in Hershey.

Brianna Bodtorf was honored with the 2020 Jenna Feathers Award, given annually to the school’s top girls basketball player. Marissa Gingrich finished second in the voting while Kate Knable finished third.

Bodtorf was a fast and athletic player who excelled at driving in the lane and could score points in bunches. Bodtorf was also a reliable rebounder for Mifflin County throughout the season. She had a double-double with 14 points and 16 rebounds in a win over Williamsport. The Huskies finished 8-14 and 7-9 in the Mid-Penn Commonwealth, despite various injuries throughout the lineup.

Brycen Hassinger was presented with The Alex Ufema Award, which is given each year to the school’s top football player. Gage Shaeffer finished second in voting while Rodney Henry finished third.

Hassinger was a standout athlete on both sides of the ball as a quarterback and as a linebacker. Hassinger led the Huskies in rushing in 2019 with 651 rushing yards and four TDs. He also threw for 523 yards and five TDs.

On the defensive side of the ball Hassinger recorded 78 tackles, including 10 for a loss and picked off two passes.

The 2020 recipient of the Tish Maclay Award, presented annually to the school’s best field hockey player, was Lydia Hidlay. Keni Kahley finished second in voting while Coletta Beeler finished third.

Hidlay was a versatile midfielder who excelled on the defensive end while contributing offensively as well. She helped lead an inexperienced Husky team to the District 6 Class 3A championship game. The Huskies began the season 6-1 before finishing 10-9.

The 2020 recipient of the Rothrock/Webber Award, annually given to the school’s top boys basketball player, was Connor Cherry. Xavier Vega finished second in the voting while Cole Knable finished third.

Cherry shined as the Huskies top scoring threat, averaging a team-high 14 points and 6.2 rebounds per game. Cherry has a knack for driving into the lane and finishing around the basket and also possesses the ability to score from anywhere on the court.

Without a 2020 spring sports season, the Jaynee Carolus Award, annually given to the school’s top softball player, as well as the Riden/Hockenbrock Award, annually awarded to the team’s best baseball player, was awarded to the entire 2020 softball and baseball teams, respectively.

The Mifflin County softball team, which won the 2019 District 6 Class 6A championship, has five seniors: Olivia Ahern, Chloe Fitzgerald, Jade Morningstar, Madison Ream and Morgan Weston.

The Mifflin County baseball team has seven seniors: Brian Yetter, Brando Souders, Ethan Eichhorn, Holden Yocum, Evan Smith, Cole Schlegel and Hudson First.

Yetter, Souders and Eichhorn will play college baseball, with Yetter set to attend Division I Marist College, Souders heading to Division II University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown and Eichhorn committing to compete for Division II Lock Haven University. Eichhorn will be reunited with former teammate Tristin Lockett.

Other major award announcements included the annual District 6 Dean Rossi Sportsmanship Scholarship awards which goes to a male and female athlete from each member school of District 6. Mifflin County’s winners were Julia Montgomery and Bronson Smith-Price.

Overall, the digital production was a success.

“We hope everyone enjoyed the digital format of our presentation,” Maclay said. “Although it is a little different, we still would like to recognize the accomplishments of all of our athletes, especially this year with these trying times. I think the situation that we are in right now helps us appreciate athletics and what athletics has to offer a little bit more than maybe we did before. It’s our hope that we see you again soon and we wish the seniors the best of luck.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)