Macedo brings home win at Williams Grove

MECHANICSBURG — Carson Macedo needed to get better at Williams Grove Speedway.

So, when the World of Outlaws canceled their races in Texas this weekend, Macedo and the Kyle Larson Racing Team made the 1,300-mile trek to the Grove’s season opener Sunday afternoon.

While his goal was to simply make some good laps at the tricky track, he ended up winning the 25-lap Sprint car feature.

“This made my whole month,” Macedo said. “I can’t believe we won a race here. I never thought it would happen.”

Macedo, of Lemoore, Calif., earned $4,080 for his first career Grove victory.

“This is without a doubt one of the biggest wins of my career,” Macedo said. “I left this place a few times thinking maybe I just don’t got it here. I just cannot figure it out.”

He had it figured out Sunday.

“To be that good today; it definitely made the trip from Texas worth it,” he said. “Thank you, Williams Grove. Thank you to all the fans for coming out. I know a lot of other places aren’t racing, so to be able to come here and race is pretty special. Thank you to Kyle Larson for letting us come out here and race. This wasn’t on our schedule. Driving all the way from Texas. It costs a lot of money to do that.”

Macedo and the Outlaws have six races at the Grove in 2020.

“This place is very, very important on our schedule with the World of Outlaws,” he said. “We come here six times. If you want a shot at winning the championship or even running in the top three in the championship, you’re going to have to be good here. My guys made my racecar night and day better. I’m so thankful to be up here. I’m very, very thankful for those guys. They did an outstanding job. I’m just the lucky guy that got to drive it.”

“I said if I ever won here, I was throwing a big party during the week,” he said. “If everything looks good, and there’s a race here, I think this will hopefully spark some interest to come back.”

Ryan Smith grabbed the early lead over Freddie Rahmer as defending track champion Danny Dietrich raced from seventh to third on the opening lap.

Smith quickly built a comfortable two-second lead.

He reached slower traffic at the tail of the field with seven laps completed.

Macedo started third, but dropped to fourth during the opening laps.

“Early on, I just was missing my marks, and wasn’t making good decisions,” Macedo said. “I got my wing back and started consistently hitting my marks and making better decisions on the race track and sure enough we were able to come back to them in traffic. I felt phenomenal. I really thought my racecar was good. I can’t say enough about my team. They gave me a really, really good car. Miles better than we’ve ever been here. I’m pretty thankful for that.”

The leaders were racing in heavy lapped traffic as Dietrich ducked under Rahmer off turn two taking over second.

Smith made contact with a slower car entering turn one. This knocked his front wing out of place creating a handling issue. This allowed Dietrich to close quickly.

The top four were very close with Macedo into third and Lance Dewease into fourth after starting 14th.

Smith was struggling while Macedo was getting faster. He grabbed second from Dietrich in turns one and two. He took the lead from Smith with an inside pass in turns three and four on lap 18. Dietrich passed Smith as well.

The only yellow of the race flew with seven laps to go.

Macedo controlled the restart pulling away from Dietrich over the final laps and winning by 1.885 seconds.

“It was a 100 percent team effort,” Macedo said. “Everybody kicked in a little bit of input. That’s what it’s all about. Working with your race team getting better.”

Dewease took third from Smith and National Open Champion Brent Marks took over fourth spot after starting 13th. Smith faded to fifth at the finish.

Rahmer, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Brian Montieth, Anthony Macri and Rick Lafferty rounded out the top 10.

Heat races for the 32 Sprint cars were won by Ryan Smith, George Hobaugh, Brett Michalski and Cale Thomas. Brock Zearfoss won the B-main.

The Grove returns to its normal Friday night racing programs this week.

Sprint Car Feature (25 laps): 1. Carson Macedo. 2. Danny Dietrich. 3.

Lance Dewease. 4. Brent Marks. 5. Ryan Smith. 6. Freddie Rahmer. 7.

Gerard McIntyre Jr. 8. Brian Montieth. 9. Anthony Macri. 10. Rick

Lafferty. 11. Jared Esh. 12. TJ Stutts. 13. Chad Trout. 14. George

Hobough. 15. Chase Dietz. 16. Brock Zearfoss. 17. Robbie Kendall. 18.

Brett Michalski. 19. Cale Thomas. 20. Dylan Norris. 21. Kyle Moody.

22. Brandon Matus. 23. Dylan Cisney. 24. Steve Buckwalter.

Did Not Qualify: Jordan Mackison, Brent Matus, Dwight Leppo, Adrian

Shaffer, Lucas Wolfe, Lynton Jeffrey, Hunter Mackison, Matt Campbell.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today