Magisterial district realignment proposed

LEWISTOWN — The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts has proposed a realignment that will impact two of Mifflin County’s three magisterial district courts in an effort to balance case load between the three courts.

The reestablishment plan for Mifflin County’s three magisterial district courts has been posted and can be viewed online for a period of 30 days on the Mifflin County website www.co.mifflin.pa.us by following the links to the Court Office or Magisterial District Judges. The proposal also will be posted within each magisterial district court and within the Mifflin County Commissioners’ Office.

Boundary changes are proposed for Magisterial District 58-3-01 (Judge Jack Miller) and Magisterial District 58-3-03 (Judge Kent Smith). No boundary changes are anticipated for Magisterial District Judge Jonathan Reed.

Public comment will be accepted on the realignment until close of business Wednesday, Nov. 24.

Under Pennsylvania’s court system, no magisterial district should have a total workload which is 15% higher or lower than the workload of any other district within the judicial district. These changes are proposed in order to equitably divide the workload in Mifflin County. All portions of each magisterial district remain contiguous. Access to justice to those boroughs and townships moved is no more than a few minutes or a few miles difference.

Under the proposal, three boroughs and three townships will be moved from Judge Miller’s district to Judge Smith’s district.

If the reestablishment plan is approved, District 58-3-01 would be reduced and would include only Lewistown and Juniata Terrace boroughs, and Granville Township. District 58-3-03 would be expanded to include six additional municipalities, and would then cover the boroughs of Kistler, McVeytown and Newton Hamilton, and Armagh, Bratton, Brown, Menno, Oliver, Union and Wayne townships.

Conducted within each judicial district by the president judge and court administration, under guidelines established by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, the statewide process is administered by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts. Judicial redistricting, also referred to as reestablishment, is a statutorily required process that takes place once every 10 years to determine how to allocate state court system resources to best serve the Commonwealth’s citizens. The review covers the number and boundaries of each of the state’s 539 magisterial districts.

Public comments related to Mifflin County’s plan may be mailed c/o Court Administrator, Mifflin County Courthouse, 20 N. Wayne St., Lewistown, PA 17044, or emailed to courtadmin@mifflinco.org. Comments must include the sender’s full name and address.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.92/week.

Subscribe Today