Commissioners honor Babe Ruth all-star team

Mifflin County finished as national runner-up

Submitted photo
The Mifflin County Commissioners honored the Mifflin County Babe Ruth 15-year-old baseball all-stars at their Thursday meeting. On hand for the proclamation were, from left, front, Commissioner Mark Sunderland, manager Bill Corbin, Dewey Reed, JP Pannizzo, Ryan Kanagy, Tucker Gill and Commissioner Robert Postal; back, Landon Eichhorn, Xavier Smith, Parker Kearns, Deakon Scheaffer, Douglas Weaver, Chris Moon, Hunter Bailey, assistant coach Bob Mowry and Commissioner Kevin Kodish.

From staff reports

LEWISTOWN — At Thursday morning’s meeting, the Mifflin County Commissioners issued a proclamation congratulating the Mifflin County Babe Ruth League’s 15-year-old all-star baseball team for finishing as runner-up at the Babe Ruth World Series last month in Eagle Pass, Texas.

The team and its coaches were on hand Thursday to accept the commissioners’ proclamation.

“Whereas, the Mifflin County 15-Year-Old Junior Babe Ruth All-Stars captured the 2021 Mid-Atlantic Region Babe Ruth title, and the 2021 Babe Ruth World Series Runner-Up honors; and whereas, the tremendous season can be credited to not only the commitment of Manager Bill Corbin, the assistant coaches and the parents, but also to the determination and spirit of the entire team; and whereas, these outstanding young men have demonstrated admirable sportsmanship as well as athletic ability; and … whereas, the contributions of these dedicated individuals have provided our community with much pleasure and pride,” the proclamation read. “Now, therefore, we, the Mifflin County Commissioners, on behalf of all citizens of Mifflin County do hereby wish to extend our congratulations and appreciation for their great effort and superior achievement.”

The members of the team were all named individually in the proclamation. The team’s players included Trevor Sheaffer, Tucker Gill, Xavier Smith, Ryan Kanagy, Ryan Hine, Doug Weaver, Landon Eichhorn, Deakon Sheaffer, Chris Moon, Garrett Leitzel, Aidan Reed, JP Pannizzo, Parker Kearns, Hunter Bailey, Trace Brought, Cole Shutt, Aiden Everly and Dewey Reed. The coaching staff was led by manager Bill Corbin and included assistants Bob Mowry, Kalen Gearhart, Jeff Kanagy and Jake Sheaffer.

Also on Thursday, the commissioners:

¯Approved a request for two exonerations of 2021 county real estate tax bill and relieve the Tax Collector from collecting this bill for parcels in Granville Township. The first parcel was for $99.35 because a mobile home was torn down and the other was for $101.72 because a mobile home was destroyed by fire.

¯Approved a three-year Prison HVAC Service Agreement with NRG Building Services, of Harrisburg in the following amounts: Sept. 1, 2021 through Aug. 31, 2022 – $15,700; Sept. 1, 2022 through Aug. 31, 2023 – $15,700; and Sept. 1, 2023 through Aug. 31, 2024 – $16,170.

¯Approved the following state food purchase program distribution agreements with Pennsylvania Food Bank: Salvation Army $6,471.46; Hand of Grace/Grace Covenant Church $22,548; Abuse Network $6,000; Bible Baptist/New Life Church Food Pantry $7,049; Bible Baptist/New Life Church Soup Kitchen $1,000; Calvary Bible Church $20,908; and Central Pennsylvania Food Bank $2,235, totaling $66,211.46.

¯Approved agreement with Juniata Valley Tri-County Drug and Alcohol Abuse Commission for the provision of drug and alcohol abuse treatment and prevention and other services for the period Sept. 30, 2021 through Sept. 29, 2022.

¯Approved a professional services agreement with GeoDecisions, of Camp Hill, to perform IT updates and database conversion/development with GIS and Public Safety NG911 data to be in effect until Dec. 31, 2023.

¯Approved a professional engineering services proposal from the EADS Group to perform COVID-19 HVAC upgrades at four Mifflin County facilities in support of the Mifflin County CDBG Program for a lump sum fee of $3,100.

¯Approved a change order from Glenn O Hawbaker Inc. for the CDBG Granville Run Road Project to adjust quantities that were estimated – increase of $5,173.12.

¯Did not open bids on the CDBG Project for East Walnut Street Extended, Derry Township due to the process necessitating a re-bid.

¯Approved the Adult Treatment Court Grant Project Modification Report with changes in the budget and an extension to the end date of the grant.

¯Approved the 2022 holiday schedules for the prison, courthouse and 911 employees.

¯Approved the hiring of Tyler Daughenbaugh as part-time corrections officer effective Sept. 20.

¯Approved the hiring of Nickea Vargas as Case Coordinator in the court office effective Oct. 12.

¯Approved the promotion of Jennifer Sheaffer from Case Coordinator II to Case Coordinator effective Oct. 12.

¯Accepted the resignation of Mike Lamarca from tipstaff in the courts effective Dec. 31.

¯Approved the hiring of James Bell for tipstaff in the Courts effective Sept. 7.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.92/week.

Subscribe Today