Sunderland, Postal win GOP primary

Kodish wins lone Democratic nomination

LEWISTOWN — Following a four-way race for two Republican nominations for Mifflin County Commissioner, Mark Sunderland and Rob Postal all but guaranteed 2019 general election, according to unofficial election results.

Sunderland garnered 2,748 votes and Postal received1,990 votes. Ted Reed came in third with 1,440 votes and Aaron Wilson finished with 864 votes.

Sunderland previously served as commissioner until 2016. Postal won election for the first time after having been appointed to serve the remainder of the term of former Commissioner Lisa Nancollas.

Sunderland and Postal will join incumbent Democrat Kevin Kodish on the ballot. Kodish ran unopposed in that party’s primary and received 1,221 votes.

Three candidates will be chosen as commissioners in the Nov. 5 general election.