Newcomers receive GOP nominations

LEWISTOWN — Two newcomers seeking election to Lewistown Borough Council and the current council president received Republican nominations Tuesday, according to unofficial election results.

Council president Venus Shade received 311 votes for a two-year term and 283 for a four-year term in the Republican primary. Stefan Russell garnered 231 Republican votes for the four-year term and Marc Terry received 236 Republican votes. Nelson Rieffannacht, another candidate for the four-year term, received 194 votes in the Republican primary.

There were no candidates listed on the Democratic ballot, but 125 write-in votes were cast for a two-year term and 71 write-in votes were cast for a four-year term. For whom the write-in votes were cast will be determined at a later date.

Shade, Russell and Terry will advance to the 2019 general election, which is Nov. 5.