Spikes’ road win streak snapped

WILLIAMSPORT — Wadye Ynfante put the State College Spikes ahead with his third home run of the year, but the Williamsport Crosscutters surged in the middle innings to take an 8-1 victory Tuesday night at BB&T Ballpark at Historic Bowman Field and finish the Spikes’ franchise-record road winning streak at 12 games.

Following a 54-minute rain delay at the outset, Ynfante smashed a solo homer over the Spikes’ (31-32) bullpen in left field in the fourth to give State College the opening lead of the game.

However, Williamsport (26-36) responded with a two-out, bases-loaded, bases-clearing triple from Seth Lancaster in the fourth, and continued the outburst with Ben Pelletier’s eighth home run of the year, a two-run shot to left-center field, in the fifth.

The Crosscutters finished the scoring with three runs in the sixth, led by Keudy Bocio’s RBI double. New York-Penn League All-Star Rafael Marchan then followed with a run-scoring single, and Pelletier’s RBI double capped the frame.

Kevin Woodall, Jr. added a double and Alexis Wilson contributed his first triple of the year for the Spikes.

Jacob Schlesener (2-4), who struck out a franchise record-tying 10 batters in his last start against the Crosscutters, took the loss on Tuesday after yielding five runs on seven hits and three walks while striking out four over five innings.

Williamsport starter Francisco Morales (4-3) was the hurler who racked up the K’s on Tuesday, notching 11 strikeouts over six innings for the win. Morales gave up one run on a total of three hits and a walk.

NYPL All-Star Randy Alcantara (4) allowed one hit and hit a batter over three innings for the automatic save. Alcantara also struck out two batters.

Marchan produced a three-hit game for Williamsport.

The Spikes and Crosscutters meet again tonight at BB&T Ballpark at Historic Bowman Field to finish their series. The 7:05 p.m. game will feature right-hander Franyel Casadilla (3-1) on the mound for State College to be opposed by Williamsport left-hander Manuel Silva (1-4).