Travel circuit is visiting Port

The National Dirt Racing League visits Port Royal Speedway for the first time tonight. The traveling late model series’ Northeast Division will compete in a 30-lap feature paying $3,000 to win. Sprint cars and econo late models complete the card, which gets under way at 7 p.m.

The NDRL is an experiment for the future in our area. Their traveling classes have taken hold in other parts of the country but face a tougher challenge in Pennsylvania because there are other late model series competing here. Those classes include the Three States Flyers and World of Outlaws. Occasionally the Lucas Oil Series will venture near our area but do not have shows booked currently in Central Pennsylvania. Port Royal Speedway was presented a ground floor opportunity and have taken the plunge.

Currently the NDRL has top names competing with them. The top five in points include Keith Barbara, Max Blair, Mike Knight, Justin Kann and Jared Miley. Gregg Saterlee, Kann and Miley have won feature events this season. Dan Stone also competes with the group. Port Royal has six different late model winners this year including Tim Wilson, Brett Schaedel, Tim McCready, Mike Lupfer, Nick Dickson and Coleby Frye.

Last week Port Royal hosted a huge crowd for the free Fan Appreciation Night, which saw seven feature winners: Mike Erdley and Doug Esh in sprint cars, Coleby Frye and Mike Lupfer in late models, Mike Watkins and Eric Parker in 305 sprint cars and Bill Powell in xtreme stocks.

Lincoln Speedway holds its final tune up before PA Sprint Car Speedweek gets underway tonight when 410 and 358 sprint cars and Central PA Legends cars make up the program, which starts at 7:30 p.m. Danny Dietrich kept the All Stars winless at Lincoln last Saturday night. Dietrich has won three of the last four All Star races run at the track.

Freddie Rahmer won a heat race during last week’s Lincoln All Star show. Rahmer is in his rookie season of 410 sprint car racing.

Selinsgrove Speedway presents a four-division regular show plus Diabetes Research Foundation Fund Raiser Night. Race time is 7:30 p.m. Last week T.J. Stutts won the Joe Whitcomb Memorial Race. It was Stutts’ third win of the season, tying him with Mark Smith at the Snyder County oval.

Justin Barger scored his first 410 sprint car feature last Sunday night at Susquehanna Speedway. The Montrose, N.Y., driver has been a regular this season at Williams Grove and Port Royal speedways.

Danny Dietrich is living like a true outlaw as he plans to compete in 16 sprint car races over the next 17 days. Dietrich will run both the Ohio and PA Sprint Car Speedweeks. Stevie Smith also plans to run the Ohio series and four Keystone State programs.

Before we speak again, Speedweek will be underway. I will have the complete schedule next week but action starts next Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway and moves on to Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

Until then please remember speed is for the speedway, not the highway.


Craig Rutherford writes about motorsports for The Sentinel.