Ruth, PSU grapplers honored

UNIVERSITY PARK – The Penn State Nittany Lion wrestling team, under the guidance of head coach Cael Sanderson, was honored at the Penn State Wrestling Club’s annual season-ending banquet on Sunday. Highlighted by Ed Ruth’s William N. Neidig Award as Outstanding Wrestler, eight grapplers were recipients of the many team awards handed out the event, which was held at the Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel.

A three-time All-American and two-time NCAA Champion, Ruth not only won the outstanding wrestler award, but also claimed the Joe Scalzo Award for most team points.

Ruth won his second NCAA title in complete and dominating fashion, closing out yet another undefeated season with a 12-4 major over Lehigh’s Robert Hamlin in the 184-pound title bout at the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships.

Senior Quentin Wright, four-time All-American and two-time NCAA Champion, was presented the Leadership Award by the coaching staff. Wright capped off a stellar collegiate career by blazing through an undefeated 32-0 season, culminating in an 8-6 win over top-seeded Dustin Kilgore of Kent State in the 197-pound title bout at the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships. The victory clinched the team title for the Lions and earned Wright his second national title.

Teammate David Taylor took home a total of four awards at the event, including the Charles M. Speidel Award for most takedowns, the Bill Koll Award for most pins and the Most Bonus Points Scored Award. He also garnered one of five team Academic Excellence Awards for having a class-best 3.55 GPA.

Taylor was the 2013 NCAA National Runner-Up at 165 after he dropped a tough 5-4 decision on 1:13 riding time to Cornell’s Kyle Dake in the final match of the tournament.

All-American and National runner-up Matt Brown grabbed the Commitment Award and the ‘Third Year Wrestler’ Academic Excellence Award with a 3.97 GPA while two-time All-American and National runner-up Nico Megaludis was honored with the ‘Second Year Wrestler’ Academic Excellence Award.

The final three award winners included red-shirt freshman Jordan Conaway with the Kaye Vinson Award for Most Improved Wrestler, senior James English with the Community Service Award as well as the ‘Fifth Year Wrestler’ Academic Excellence honor and freshman Caleb Livingston with the final Academic Excellence award.