Dewease gets 1st win of the week

HAGERSTOWN, Md. – Lance Dewease drove by Freddie Rahmer with only a few laps to go to win the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek main event Wednesday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

Dewease’s $5,000 win was his first of Speedweek and broke Kyle Larson’s three-race Speedweek win streak.

“Tonight was a great night,” Dewease said. “We weren’t very good in the heat race. They kept working hard on the car. They got it better. I’m glad I don’t have to race Little Freddie the rest of my career. He’s going to be racing way longer than I’m going to be racing yet. He’s turned into a really good racer in a short amount of time.”

Rahmer came into the night as the Speedweek point leader and earned the pole for the 30-lap main event which was round number six in Speedweek.

Rahmer led the first 26 laps before Dewease was able to pass him as they tried to lap slower cars.

“He had a better can than me, but didn’t know what to do with a couple of those lapped cars,” Dewease said. “I got a good run at him. It’s always easier when you’re second in lapped cars.”

Dewease, of Fayetteville, started 10th, but his Hagerstown experience helped him get the job done.

“I know what this track does very well,” he said. “Normally, the bottom comes in late if you can stay down there and hit your marks. We could do that at times and I was pretty good when I moved up to the middle in three and four.”

Rahmer had a comfortable lead, but Dewease slowly closed as Rahmer struggled a bit with traffic.

“He was a sitting duck with those lapped cars,” Dewease said.

Once in front, Dewease cruised to victory by 1.523 seconds over Rahmer, who extended his Speedweek point leader with the win. His dad, Fred, has the most Speedweek championships with 13.

Rico Abreu, Ryan Smith and Danny Dietrich completed the top five. Mike Wagner, TJ Stutts, Lucas Wolfe, Dave Blaney and Trey Starks rounded out the top 10.

In his final Speedweek appearance, Larson finished 11th. Kasey Kahne finished 18th.

Stutts set quick time for the third straight race with a lap of 15.580. Dave Blaney, Rahmer, Smith and Starks won the heat races and Frankie Herr won the consolation.

Speedweek continues tonight at Port Royal Speedway with a 30-lap main event paying $7,000 to win. The Mitch Smith Memorial will be held Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway before the series returns to Port Royal Saturday. It concludes Sunday at Selinsgrove Speedway.