Hodnett goes wire-to-wire to take 410 sprint contest

PORT ROYAL – Greg Hodnett went wire-to-wire to win the 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night while the stock cars staged exciting racing in the 355 econo late model, xtreme stock and all-american outlaw divisions.

Andrew Yoder started ninth, but that didn’t hinder him as he came from behind win keeping his strangle hold on the econo late model division, now having scored all three of the mains contested for the class to date.

In the xtreme stocks, Bill Powell exchanged the lead with Bob Bussey over the final five laps to come out on top at the finish line.

In the all-american outlaws main Kurt Zimmerman did exactly what Yoder was able to do, coming from the ninth spot to take the checkered flag.

Hodnett drew the pole for the start of the 410 sprint car feature and set sail on the field when the green flag unfurled.

He entered the backmarkers on the fifth circuit chased by Curt Stroup and Dave Ely.

Meanwhile, having started ninth in the field, Blane Heimbach was blistering around the bottom groove of the track to be sitting in third when the red flag came out with nine laps scored for a crash involving Doug Esh and Logan Wagner.

The pair was battling for the fourth spot when they collided and flipped in the fourth turn, escaping injury.

Hodnett had four lapped cars as a buffer between himself and Stroup for the restart and when action resumed he picked up his previous pace at the front.

Mike Wagner got by Heimbach and Stroup in one outside swoop on the 11th tour but then began fading as Heimbach took third on lap 12 and then overtook Wagner for second with 12 laps to go.

By that time Hodnett had a half track lead on Heimbach but with the final 16 laps going non-stop to the finish, Heimbach had to settle for second at the end, some 4.492 seconds behind the winner after driving down the margin to a straightaway at the finish.

Wagner was third followed by 10th starter Rick Lafferty and Dave Ely.

Sixth through 10th went to Ryan Taylor, Mike Erdley, Nate Snyder, Steve Buckwalter and Chad Layton.

Heats for the 26-car field went to Dave Hahn, Ely and Wagner with Brock Zearfoss taking the consolation race.

Polesitter Tim Krape led the first seven laps of the 15-lap econo late model feature before succumbing to the pressure of Eric Irvin.

Irvin drove into the lead just before the caution flag came out with nine laps remaining. Yoder was up to third for the restart and got by Krape at the new green before closing in on Irvin.

Then another caution bunched the field with four laps to go at which time Yoder first drove into control only to see Irvin battle back in the third corner to pull the field back to the stripe with three to go.

With two to go in the event Yoder took the lead again and this time he wouldn’t relinquish it.

Irvin ended up 1.156 seconds behind in second followed by Todd Snook, Krape and Bill Henney.

Sixth through 10th went to Devin Hart, Lloyd Hockenberry, Lucas Bryner, Troy Miller and Danny Sollers.

Twin heats went to Troy Miller and Snook.

The xtreme stock main saw Bill Powell lead from the pole in the 15-lapper only to find the caution flag with four laps down for a tangle that took out the second, third and fourth place cars.

That advanced Bob Bussey into second after starting seventh and Bussey hounded Powell for the balance of the race, taking the lead on the eighth tour only to then be hounded by Powell.

The all-time win leader in the division, Powell pressured to regain the lead and slipped by with one lap to go to end up taking the hard fought victory.

Bussey was second followed by Darian Trego, Mike Goodwin and Tyler Amtower.

Polesitter Bryan Green led until the seventh lap of the 20-lap all american outlaws main when ninth starter Kurt Zimmerman took a lead he wouldn’t surrender to the finish although the front four cars raced together under a blanket all the way to the end.

Green held second to the end after losing the lead while Dylan Keim took third with Randy Doty fourth and Jim Chenoweth finishing in fifth.

Twin heats went to Zimmerman and Doty.