Blaney brothers continue Easter winning ways

Port Royal – There’s something about Easter Saturday at Port Royal Speedway that suits the racing Blaney brothers.

Last year on Easter eve, it was Dave Blaney invading and winning in the 410-sprint division at the oval and this year it was his brother Dale who pulled of the same feat, taking Saturday night’s 25-lap sprint main with an impressive performance through traffic.

Herndon’s Brett Schadel broke a more than year long dry spell in the late model division by beating Mike Lupfer to the finish line while Turbotville’s John Braim scored his first career win at Port Royal in the 305 sprint division.

Blaney recently notched his 100th career All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint car circuit victory, showed up at Port Royal Saturday night in order to prepare for next Saturday’s Bob Weikert Memorial and he couldn’t get more prepared.

He lined up on the pole for the start of the 25-lap feature and watched as Justin Barger led the first circuit before he took over.

From there Blaney began an assault on the field in the non-stop event that saw him move into lapped traffic on the seventh tour.

Greg Hodnett, who started eighth in the field, would eventually end up second, taking over the spot from Barger with five laps to go.

By the time he had secured the spot, Blaney was in the middle of the back stretch as he crossed the start -finish line on the frontstretch.

Hodnett was unable to bite into Blaney’s massive lead before the finish however, instead riding home second by 6.392 seconds.

Barger finished a solid third.

Sixth starter Lucas Wolfe gained late in the race to end up fourth with Mike Wagner finishing fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to 12th starter Rick Lafferty, Doug Esh, Blane Heimbach, Dave Blaney and Chad Layton

The win was the second of Blaney’s career at Port Royal.

Heats for the 25-car field went to Barger, Layton and Wagner.

Schadel had the pole for the 20-lap late model main and allowed Matt Parks to lead the first lap before driving into command.

Shortly after getting the lead his pace was slowed however with two laps down.

Another caution flag with five down found Mike Lupfer restarting second.

Schadel was unshakable during the balance of the event, even upon entering lapped traffic with three laps to go.

It was about the same time that he was forced to forsake his chosen bottom groove as he worked around the backmarkers but even then Lupfer was unable to close for the win.

Schadel scored his fourth career victory at Port Royal and his first since September, 2012.

Lupfer got second by .841 seconds.

Justin Kann drove from seventh to third at the finish followed by Eric Zembower and Parks.

Sixth through 10th went to Rance Garlock, Tim Smith Jr., Scott Haus, Mitch Hack and Nick Dickson.

Heats for the 23-car field went to Dustin Hoffman, Kann and Parks.

Braim wired the field for the 20-lap 305 sprint feature win and the third of his overall career.

A restart on the eighth lap placed prior winner Tyler Bear on Braim’s tail for the return to action but a battle never developed with Braim instead pulling away during the late stages.

Bear was second with seventh starter Kody Lehman finishing in third followed by Jeff Miller Jr., and 16th starter Mike Wagner II.

Sixth through 10th went to Erin Statler, Jake Waters, Scott Ellerman, Eric Parker and Reed Thompson.

Heats for the 32 cars in attendance were taken by Lehman, Miller Jr., Brandon Hetrick and Bear.

The consolation went to Wayne Dadetto.