Kreitz Jr. dominates for a win at the Tuscarora 50

PORT ROYAL – Donnie Kreitz Jr. invaded the Port Royal Speedway for the first time in four seasons and left with $13,200 following a dominating performance in the 46th Annual Tuscarora 50 for sprint cars at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night.

Kreitz, of Sinking Spring, led all but three laps of the 50-lap main event after a brief, but thrilling, battle with 24th starting Brian Montieth during the second half of the race.

“Davey (Brown) has this thing locked down,” Kreitz said, referring to his 79-year-old Hall of Fame mechanic. “It was unbelievable in clean air. I could run that thing wide-open.”

Kreitz and his protege Ryan Smith shared the front row of the Tuscarora 50, which was sanctioned by the All Star Circuit of Champions. Smith got the jump on his car owner, but Kreitz powered by off the inside of turn four and led the first lap.

It didn’t take Kreitz long to build a big lead as in only four laps he led Smith by nearly a full straightaway.

The caution flag flew on lap six when Dale Blaney slowed.

Other than Kreitz, the driver with the fastest car on the track was Brian Montieth. While Kreitz was locked to the inside, Montieth used a narrow cushion along the outside of the speedway. He started 24th and was seventh in just 14 laps as he blasted by people with great runs off turns two and four.

The caution flag flew again on lap 16 for debris on the speedway.

Kreitz streaked away again and Montieth continued his march to the front. When the red flag flew on lap 25 to refuel the cars Montieth, known as “The Edge,” was running third.

Montieth challenged Smith for second as 15th starting Danny Dietrich moved into the top five.

Kreitz had trouble lapping Jimmy Seger, allowing Smith and Montieth to close. Montieth drove by Smith for second off turn two and then with Kreitz still struggling with Seger, drove by for the lead off turn four on lap 37.

“At the break, we changed the car around a little bit and it felt good after the restart,” Kreitz said. “When Montieth went by me, I couldn’t believe it. My heart sank. I was lucky to get him back.”

Kreitz finally passed Seger and came right back on Montieth and retook the lead three laps later.

From there, Kreitz was gone as Montieth, Dietrich and Smith battled for runner-up honors.

Kreitz scored the win as Dietrich won the runner-up battle. Montieth, Smith and Lance Dewease were top five. Cap Henry, Tim Shaffer, Friday night winner Greg Hodnett, Mike Wagner and Danny Holtgraver rounded out the top 10.

Selinsgrove’s Blane Heimbach dropped out of the main event, but clinched his first career Port Royal track championship.

Shaffer set fast time over the 40-car field with a lap of 16.827. Adam Wilt, Stevie Smith, Dewease and Wagner won the heat races and Brian Leppo won the B-main.