Hafertepe Jr. lands first at Big Diamond

FORESTVILLE – Sam Hafertepe Jr. turned in a dominating performance Sunday, winning the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek race at Big Diamond Speedway.

The driver from Sunnyvale, Texas, started on the pole, grabbed the lead from Brady Bacon in the first turn and would lead all 30 laps unchallenged.

He earned $5,000 for his first career win at Big Diamond and took over the Speedweek point lead with three races completed.

Stevie Smith moved from fourth to second on the first lap and chased Hafertepe Jr. through traffic, but couldn’t make a move for the lead.

The first caution flag of the race flew on lap 13, but Hafertepe Jr. got a good restart and was able to pull away from Smith.

Smith took one final shot at the leader following a restart with two laps to go, but couldn’t make the first turn pass and had to settle for second.

Brent Marks, Lance Dewease and Greg Hodnett completed the top five.

Danny Lasoski, Bacon, Fred Rahmer, Australian driver Darren Mollenoyux and Mark Smith completed the top 10. Dewease set fast time over the 24-car field with a lap of 13.501. Marks, Bacon and Chad Layton won the 10-lap heat races. The feature was completed at 9:15.

Alan Krimes of Denver started on the pole, grabbed the lead from Fred Rahmer at the start and would lead all 30 laps of the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Speedweek race at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night.

The win was the third of Krimes’ career in Speedweek competition and was his fourth overall in 2013 in a sprinter owned by his father, Larry.

Krimes earned $5,000 for the win, his third this year at Lincoln and second in the past three races.

Rahmer fell into second place at the start and was able to close on Krimes early in the race in lapped traffic, but settled for second. It was Rahmer’s 33rd straight top 10 finish this season in Rob Sell’s sprinter.

Stevie Smith finished third ahead of Brian Montieth and Lance Dewease. Adam Wilt, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Brent Marks, Cory Haas and Jimmy Siegel completed the top 10.

A field of 36 sprinters were on hand for the second round of Speedweek, which continues Tuesday night at Grandview Speedway, near Pottstown.

The series moves to Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway on Wednesday night before returning to Lincoln on July 4th for the 14th Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial, paying $7,000 to win. Williams Grove hosts its second round of Speedweek on Friday night with the Mitch Smith Memorial, paying $10,000 to the winner. Port Royal Speedway hosts its Speedweek race on July 6 and Selinsgrove Speedway wraps up the series with the Jan Opperman Memorial on Sunday, July 7.

Hafertepe Jr. leads the points headed into Grandview on Tuesday night with 436. Hodnett is second with 394 and Rahmer is third with 390. Marks and Dewease are top five in points with 384 and 379 respectively.

Smith (377), Lasoski (349), Krimes (311), Dietrich (295) and Montieth (264) are top 10 in points after three races with six remaining.