Eckert takes Port Royal late model win

PORT ROYAL – Rick Eckert started on the pole and led all 40 laps of the Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek race at Port Royal Speedway on Tuesday night.

The former World of Outlaws Late Model Champion from York earned $5,000 for his third-career win at the Juniata County oval.

Although he led every lap, Eckert had to hold back challenges from Gregg Satterlee and then Dan Stone in heavy lapped traffic late in the race.

“Out in the open I was okay and could use the whole racetrack, but when we got to traffic, I broke myself loose and Stoney drove by me, but I was able to sneak back by him,” Eckert said. “Me and him are really good friends. I was pushing every lap. I wasn’t waiting. I knew he was there. I wasn’t saving nothing for nobody. That’s by far the best racetrack I’ve ever seen here. It was four lanes wide.”

Eckert grabbed the lead from Stone and Vic Coffey when the green came out. The yellow slowed the field on lap seven and Coffey would slow and pit.

Jamie Lathroum and Austin Hubbard battled hard for fourth as 11th starter Gregg Satterlee began to show some speed.

He wound up second with a pass of Stone off turn four. He was pounding the top as Eckert worked the bottom.

He nearly got by off turn four, but Eckert slid up to block. Stone battled him for second and took the spot back.

Things got really crowded when the leaders reached lapped traffic with 10 laps to go. Stone caught and passed Eckert in turn two, but Eckert got back to lead by the next lap.

Satterlee got out of shape off turn four and lost spots. Stone spun in turn two to bring out the caution flag with six laps to go.

Eckert continued to lead over Lathroum and Hubbard for the restart. Eckert pulled ahead of Hubbard as Satterlee rebounded to pass Lathroum back for third.

Eckert held on for the win over Hubbard, Satterlee, Lathroum and Davey Johnson. Vic Coffey, Jason Covert, Jeremy Miller, Coleby Frye and Scott LeBarron completed the top 10.

“We missed on it bad last night, but winning makes up for everything,” Eckert said. “This is good. We’ve got one more night left and hopefully we can go down and win at Lincoln.”

“It has been a pretty bad week,” Hubbard said. “But you’ve got to learn. Finally, we put it together.”

Stone set fast time over the 40-car field with a lap of 20.332. The 10-lap heat races were won by D.J. Myers, Coffey, D. Johnson and Lathroum. The B-mains were won by Bryan Bernheisel and Tim Wilson.