Kreitz takes home All-Star Circuit

MECHANICSBURG Don Kreitz Jr. blew by Fred Rahmer and Jac Haudenschild for the lead and would go on to win the All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

Kreitz, of Sinking Spring, earned $5,000 for his first Grove win of the season and the 55th of his career.

“It was a great race for us,” said Kreitz. “Davey (Brown) and the guys made a lot of changes from the heat race and had the car really hooked-up. I just caught the leaders right. They didn’t know the bottom was coming in and our car was really dialed-in there early and left us get up through. I haven’t won here in a little while and to get a win early here like this is good for our team.”

Rahmer started on the pole and grabbed the early lead from All Star champion Tim Shaffer. Shaffer caught Rahmer and used an outside move off turn four to grab the lead with four laps completed.

Rahmer would throw a slider at Shaffer in turns three and four on the following lap to take the lead back on lap five.

Haudenschild would drive by Shaffer on the backstretch and into the runner-up spot. He closed on Rahmer and they raced nose-to-tail by the flagstand with eight laps completed.

Kreitz was moving forward from his 12th starting spot and would take third from Shaffer with an inside move off turn four. As Rahmer fought off Haudenschild for the lead, Kreitz would drive by both of them off turn two to take the lead.

The caution flag flew on lap 14 when Mark Smith slowed to a stop on the frontstretch.

Kreitz built a huge lead over Rahmer during the final half of the event as the battle was for third spot between Shaffer, Lance Dewease and Californian invader Tim Kaeding.

Kreitz reached the tail of the field with four laps to go and Rahmer was able to close to his bumper. The track became one lane around the bottom and Rahmer would follow Kreitz to the finish. Shaffer won the battle for third as Dewease came from eighth to finish fourth and Alan Krimes from 12th to fifth.

Kaeding, Chad Layton, Haudenschild, Pat Cannon and Brent Marks completed the top 10.

Harrisburg’s Chad Layton set fast time over the 43-car field with a lap of 17.378. He earned an extra $300 from the Nace family. Brent Marks, Greg Hodnett, Brad Sweet and Caleb Helms won the eight-lap heat races. Fred Rahmer won the dash. Alan Krimes won the consolation.