Hass lands 1st place at Williams Grove

MECHANICSBURG – It was a tough start to the 2013 racing season for Cory Haas as the Dallastown driver destroyed two sprint cars in the first two weeks of competition at Lincoln Speedway.

His season has turned around since then and he completed the comeback with a win in the 25-lap main event at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night. It was the Grove’s third race of the season.

His fourth career Grove win was worth $3,600, plus $140 in lap money, in a car owned by Mike Barshinger.

“You start doubting yourself when you run over guys and crash cars,” said Haas. “We had some bad luck and most of it was my fault. I just wasn’t doing a good job. The guys stuck by me. We worked hard. Mike does a great job supplying us with what we need. To finally win one feels good.”

Three-wide racing entering turn three didn’t work out on the initial start and brought out the caution flag. Davey Sammons ended up with a broken front end after contact from another car.

Gerard McIntyre Jr. started on the pole and grabbed the early race lead over Adam Wilt. Haas originally started sixth and was up to third in one lap.

McIntyre continued to pace the field as Haas grabbed the runner-up spot from Wilt with six laps completed. Fred Rahmer was into fifth from his 12th starting spot.

Haas blasted around McIntyre on the cushion in turns one and two to take the lead with 11 laps completed.

“Gerard was going good there,” Haas said. “I finally got some momentum and got by him. I felt good riding around the top. Mike had the car real good. I thought it was going to take a really good car to drive by us.”

The top three were close and Brian Montieth moved into fourth. Rahmer passed Wilt and was up to third and would race McIntyre for several laps before getting the runner-up spot with only four laps to go.

Haas took the win over Rahmer as McIntyre Jr. nipped Montieth at the line for third. Wilt completed the top five. Brent Marks, Ryan Smith, Pat Cannon, Logan Schuchart and Lance Dewease completed the top 10.

The 10-lap qualifying heat races for the 22-car field were won by Montieth, Donnie Kreitz and Logan Schuchart.

Austin Hogue won the 358 limited sprint car feature over Mark Smith, Kevin Nouse, Tyler Ross and Ryan Wilson.