Dietrich pockets $4K at the Grove

MECHANICSBURG – After struggling during the first month of the season, Danny Dietrich got things turned around with a victory in the 25-lap sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

His win aboard the Gary Kauffman No. 48 was worth a total of $4,100 thanks to a $500 bonus from speedway owner Kathy Hughes.

“We needed this real bad,” said Dietrich, of Aspers.

The red flag flew before one lap was completed for a multi-car crash in turn four involving Brian Montieth, Jim Siegel and Adam Wilt. Brent Marks flipped in the crash that also saw damage to Ryan Smith’s top wing.

Logan Schuchart started on the pole with Ryan Taylor starting second. Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart started fourth after racing from the back of his heat to finish second.

Schuchart grabbed the lead from Taylor when the race went green again with Dietrich taking third and Stewart fourth.

The caution flag flew with two laps completed when Cory Haas slowed to a stop on the backstretch.

Schuchart paced the field as Dietrich would get by Taylor and into the runner-up spot. Dietrich would use an outside pass off turn four to take the lead with 11 laps completed.

“Logan was doing a good job, but he missed the top down in three and four when it started to come in,” said Dietrich. “I didn’t have nothing to lose. We’ve been struggling so bad. This feels great. The track was pretty slick. I was surprised that three and four moved up like it did. I was trying to play it cool in lapped traffic and not miss my marks.”

As Dietrich raced into lapped traffic, Lance Dewease would battle Taylor for the third spot. Dewease would finally take the spot with 12 laps completed. Dewease got by Schuchart for second and would begin to chase Dietrich.

Dewease was able to close on Dietrich in lapped traffic, but Dietrich would seal the win with a bold move off turn four.

Dietrich would clear two lapped cars with one pass off turn four to get some breathing room and would hold off Dewease for his first Grove win off the season. Donnie Kreitz, Stewart and Schuchart completed the top five. Fred Rahmer, Taylor, Pat Cannon, Jason Leffler and Rick Lafferty completed the top 10.

The 10-lap heat races for the 27 car field were won by Brent Marks, Gerard McIntyre Jr. and Fred Rahmer. Ryan Smith won the consolation.

Jason Covert of York Springs won the 25-lap late model feature.