Wagner is repeat winner

LEWISTOWN – Mifflin County’s boys basketball had its ups and downs this winter playing its first season in the Mid-Penn Commonwealth Division – but a steady presence in the paint, 6-7 senior big man Seth Wagner helped the Huskies compete at a high level.

Wagner – whose resume speaks for itself – is the 2012 Rothrock/Webber Award winner, the first 1,000-point scorer in Mifflin County school history and following Thursday night’s announcement, a two-time Rothrock/Webber Award winner.

“It feels pretty good,” Wagner said. “I believe I’m in some pretty prestigious company.”

One of Wagner’s goals at the conclusion of last season’s playoff run was to be in a position to win the award for a second time – his goal came to fruition, matching his coach as two-time award winners.

“Seth was a great player, a great talent,” Mifflin County coach Aaron Gingrich said. “And I’m happy to have coached him – Seth was well deserving and I’m proud to be in the same company as him to have won it twice.”

Interestingly enough, Wagner’s 1,110 career points ties him with Gingrich’s father as the 20th all-time leading scorer in Mifflin County history. For the multi-sport athlete Wagner, making history as the first to score more than 1,000 points in the recently-merged school is “pretty cool.”

“It feels really good – I know if anyone will pass me I’ll still be the first one to do it,” he said. “I ended up with 1,110 points and Dick Gingrich also had 1,110 career points so that’s pretty cool.”

Wagner and the Huskies came within one game of clinching a District 6 Class AAAA semifinal berth but fell to Hollidaysburg by one point in the first round of the tournament.

Three players were selected as finalists for the award. The first runner-up was Curtis Jerzerick. Hunter Wright finished third in the voting.

Gingrich added that he was proud to have coached the other nominees as well.

The Harry Rothrock/Dick Webber Award is given out annually by Merf Radio to Mifflin County’s top boys basketball player. The award is voted on by local sports media, including The Sentinel. The award is named after former Rothrock High School basketball coach Harry Rothrock and former Kishacoquillas High School coach Dick Webber.