Success of veterans parade is attributable to many

To the editor:

The Mifflin County Commissioners would like to extend thanks to everyone who participated in, or attended, our third annual Veterans Parade.

For starters, we would like to acknowledge the fine work of our parade committee: Alan Sunderland, Fame EMS captain; Christine DeArment, director of veterans affairs; Emily Price, veterans affairs clerk; and Deb Bargo, mayor of Lewistown.

Our parade judges deserve a tip of the cap as well. Special thanks go out to Gloria Runk and Melinda Parson for serving in that capacity.

Following the parade, a special program was presented on the steps of the Historic Courthouse. Frank Jost was our master of ceremonies for the event, and we were pleased to have Forest Fisher serve as the featured speaker. Bernard Carpenter provided an excellent rendition of our national anthem and Mifflin County High School band member John Haubrick played taps.

We extend thanks to the Mifflin County High School Key Club for serving refreshments in the Historic Courthouse following the parade, and to Venus Shade’s criminal justice students from South Hills Business School for handing out free balloons along the parade route.

Also playing a key role on parade night were Matt Moore (sound system) and the Mifflin County Maintenance Department staff.

Every good parade needs a band, and we thank Director Art Belfiore and the Atlantic Coast Champion MCHS Marching Band for participating in our event. We are very thankful that the band personnel were able to add the event to their busy schedule, as other school events were going on during that evening.

We need to acknowledge the three winners in our parade. First place went to Mifflin County Lady Patriots Twirling and Pom Pom Squad. Second place honors were achieved by Cub Scout Pack 115, and third place went to Reedsville Pack 5 Cub Scouts.

Plans are underway for a 2019 Veterans Parade. We will announce the date in the near future at a public meeting.

Thank you to everyone who helped us honor our veterans!

Kevin Kodish, Steve Dunkle and Rob Postal

Mifflin County Commissioners