Local prayer groups to meet

From staff reports

LEWISTOWN – Thursday is a unique opportunity to come together in prayer.

In 1988, President Ronald Reagan amended and signed a law designating the first Thursday in May as the National Day of Prayer. According to a press release by the event’s task force, the observance invites Americans to exercise their right to gather, worship and pray to God.

The theme for the 2014 National Day of Prayer is “One Voice, United in Prayer.” Romans 15:6 was selected as scripture for this year: “So that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.” Together, this theme and verse emphasize the need for individuals to join together in group prayer, the release states.

“This 63rd annual national observance on May 1 will have profound significance for our country,” said John Bornschein, vice chairman of the National Day of Prayer task force. “By joining together in prayer, we have an unprecedented opportunity to see the Lord’s healing and renewing power made manifest as we call upon citizens to humbly come before His throne.”

The release states millions of people will assemble at thousands of local events across America to pray for their communities, nation and leaders.

The day will be observed locally at the following events:

Communities that Care National Day of Prayer breakfast – 8-10 a.m. Thursday, Pine Glen Church of the Brethren, 61 Pine Glen Road, Lewistown.

Prayer gathering – 12:15-12:45 p.m. Thursday, Lost Creek Park flagpole, McAlisterville.

Prayer gathering – 7-8 p.m. Thursday, Juniata County Courthouse lawn, Mifflintown.

Prayer gathering – 7-8 p.m. Thursday, Basom Park, Richfield.

The observance also will be broadcast live from 9 a.m. to noon Thursday, from the Cannon House Office Building in Washington, on GodTV and the National Day of Prayer Task Force website. Speakers include: Anne Graham Lotz, daughter of the Rev. Billy Graham; Dr. James and Shirley Dobson; Congressman Robert Anderholt; Vonette Bright; Bob McEwen; Congressman Mike McIntyre; Don Moen; Chaplain Father Patrick Conroy; Dr. Dick Eastman; David Butts; John Bornschein; and more.

Visit www.NationalDayofPrayer.org for more information.