Employees receive wage hikes

Commissioners vote for 3 percent increase for 2018

MIFFLINTOWN – Juniata County non-union employees, department heads and assistant department heads will receive a bump in salary next year following action taken Tuesday by the Juniata County Commissioners.

The commissioners, acting as the county’s salary board, voted unanimously for a three percent across-the-board salary increase for non-union employees in the following departments: 911, Children and Youth, Emergency Management, GIS, Maintenance, Planning, Tax Assessment, Tax Claim, Veterans Affairs, Voter Registration, the Commissioners’ office, Coroner, Judge’s office, Prothonotary, Register and Recorder, Sheriff and Treasurer.

In addition, the commissioners approved a longevity increase for two employees, one with 10 years of service and one with 20 years of service, at a one-time rate of one percent and two percent respectively. These increases do not include elected officials, Commissioner Todd Graybill pointed out. All salary increases will take effect Jan. 1.

In other business Tuesday, the commissioners:

¯ Approved the following requests for 2017 Liquid Fuel funds: $759.08 to Milford Township; and $2,326.68 to Monroe Township.

¯ Re-appointed the following individuals to serve as department heads for fiscal year 2018: S. James Bahorik, county administrator/chief clerk; Andrew Winder, solicitor; Jeff Haines, chief assessor; Brenda Varner, tax claim director; Penni Abram, children and youth services director; Allen Weaver, emergency services director; Bradley Kerstetter, planning director; Dennis Hutchings, veterans affairs director; Eva Stong, voter registrar; and Rich Fisher, maintenance director.

¯ Approved the following commissioner board and committee assignments for fiscal year 2018: Alice Gray-Call-A-Ride Board, Community Services Block Grant, Council of Agencies, Emergency Food and Shelter Program, Human Services and Development Fund, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Prevention Grant Committee, South-Central Investment Board, and State Emergency Food Committee. Todd Graybill-Ag Land Preservation Board, Chamber of Commerce, Conservation District Board, Juniata Valley Visitors Bureau, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Natural Gas Co-Op, and Prison/Inmate Liaison. Mark Partner-Area Agency on Aging Board, Behavioral and Developmental Services Advisory Board, Local Emergency Planning Commission, Mifflin-Juniata Regional Services Board, PCorp, PSU Agricultural Extension, SEDA-COG Board of Directors, and Tri-County Behavioral Development Services Executive Committee.

¯ Approved payment of bills in the amount of $60,051.25.