Yarger reports positive feedback

School board approves numerous personnel requests

MIFFLINTOWN — Juniata County teachers can enter their classrooms with new energy after a professional development day this week.

During the school district’s Board of Directors meeting Thursday, Superintendent Keith Yarger said the Act 80 day, held Wednesday at Juniata High School, “went really well.”

The district hosted Dr. David Volkman, executive deputy secretary of education in Pennsylvania; John Couch, vice president of education for Apple Inc.; and Annie Wu, director of international project development for Foreign Teacher Training Centre. Speakers talked about the state of education locally and worldwide, and presented ideas to personalize learning.

Yarger said he received positive feedback from staff.

Also during the meeting, directors approved a number of personnel requests:

¯ Elimination of a three-and-one-half hour Level 1 paraprofessional position at East Juniata High School, and furlough of Jennifer L. Foust, who was employed in the position, effective Oct. 2.

¯ Elimination of a Level 1 paraprofessional position at JHS, and transfer of Beth A. Harlan from the position to a Level 2 position at Fayette Elementary School, effective Oct. 9.

¯ Resignation of JHS paraprofessional Kathi L. Goshorn, effective Oct. 9, and transfer of Harlan from her position at Fayette to fill the JHS vacancy. Long-term substitute Jessica Payne will return to the Fayette position.

¯ Employment of Carrie E. Bonson as a JHS/Tuscarora Junior High School ESL teacher. She replaces Angela Boutiller, who resigned.

¯ Appointment of Susan L. Bender as a mentor for Colton Shertzer, and Christopher Alderfer as a mentor for Samantha Liberatore.

¯ Issuance of permanent professional employee contracts to Stephanie E. Wagner and Matthew A. Trotman, who have received satisfactory evaluations after three years as temporary professional employees.

¯ Conference requests for Jennifer Hart, Tanya Williams, Rachel Shepler and Tina Kerstetter.

¯ Amendment of the benefit and compensation plan for certified school psychologists to include a 195-day work schedule, rather than a 210-day work schedule.

Directors also approved the following extracurricular positions at JHS for the 2017-2018 school year: Angela Clark, freshman class adviser, $325 stipend; Angela Walters, sophomore class adviser, $325; Erin Cook, junior class adviser, $1,000; Angela Sieber, senior class adviser, $1,205; Kelli Strawser, National Honor Society adviser, $200; Sharon Story, Lisa Kile, Kurt Condo, Sieber and Cook, JHS SAP team, $500 per adviser; Christopher Heidenreich, senior play director, $1,405; Bradley Eargle, senior play music director, $750; Strawser and Clark, Student Council advisers, $100 each; Chelsea Boyer, HOSA adviser, $700; Eargle, marching/concert band director, $2,050; Lauren Zearfaus, silks adviser, $172.50; Erika Brunner, majorette adviser, $150; Steven Whistler, junior play art director, $600; Sara Sutton and Whistler, senior play art co-directors, $300 each; Storey, yearbook adviser, $1,470; Suzanna Hummel, junior class play director, $1,405; Kevin Kodish, girls’ basketball coach, $4,000; Becca Zendt and Mike Baker, girls’ basketball co-assistant coaches, $1,605 and $1,245, respectively; Al Ream, boys’ basketball coach, $4,000; Scott Clark, boys’ basketball assistant coach, $3,300; Mike Robinson, wrestling coach, $3,970; Jarred Dressler, assistant wrestling coach, $2,900; and Rachel Fowler, cheerleading co-coach, $370.

Other extracurricular positions throughout the district approved Thursday include: Erich Graybill, EJHS boys’ basketball coach, $3,280; Stephen Smith and Bryant Kantz, EJHS boys’ basketball co-assistant coaches, $1,245 and $1,290, respectively; Chad Barth, EJHS junior high boys’ basketball coach, $1,495; Shaun Yackey, TJHS wrestling coach, $1,695; and Trotman and Michael Smith, TJHS boys’ basketball co-coaches, $792.50 each.

Additionally, the following volunteer positions at JHS were approved: Denise Shaffer, SWEETS adviser; Stephanie Everett and Raina Haubert, TSA advisers; Steven Whistler, SKILLS adviser; Jessica Morgan, FFA adviser; Beth Alleman, Key Club adviser; Trotman, Newspaper Club adviser; and Amy Houtz, swimming coach.