Pa. readies for election

Juniata Valley residents primed to head to the polls on Nov. 8

LEWISTOWN — With the general election just days away, voters in the Juniata Valley will have the opportunity to weigh in on a number of political offices, including the highest in the land.

With the presidential election dominating the 24/7 news coverage, it’s important to note there are other elected positions on the ballot for the Nov. 8, election.

Although the presidential race is by and large seen as a race between Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton and Republican candidate Donald Trump, there are other candidates running for the executive office, including Constitution party candidate Darrell L. Castle, Green Party candidate Jill Stein and Libertarian Gary Johnson.

Pennsylvania’s U.S. Senate race has also drawn much publicity in the lead up to the election as incumbent Republican Senator Pat Toomey faces Democratic challenger Katie McGinty and Libertarian Edward T. Clifford III.

Republican Congressman Tom Marino, representing the 10th Congressional District, is running against Democratic candidate Michael Molesvich.

There also are several state offices on the ballot as well, including attorney general, treasurer and auditor general. Democratic candidate for attorney general Josh Shapiro faces Republican John Rafferty. There are four candidates for auditor general: incumbent Democrat Eugene

Depasquale, Republican John Brown, Green Party John Sweeney and Libertarian Roy A. Minet. There also are also four candidates for state treasurer: Democrat Joe Torsella, Republican Otto Voit, Green Party Kristin Combs and Libertarian James Babb.

State representatives in the 81st, 82nd and 171st Legislative Districts are running for re-election. Republican incumbent Adam Harris, representing the 82nd district, faces no challenger, while other incumbent Republicans Kerry Benninghoff, representing the 171st, and Rich Irvin, representing the 81st district, each face Democratic challengers. Melody Fleck is running against Benninghoff, while Rich Rogers is running against Irvin.

Lastly, voters will be asked to vote on a proposed Pennsylvania Constitutional amendment. The amendment reads as follows: “Shall the Pennsylvania Constitution be amended to require that justices of the Supreme Court, judges, and magisterial district judges be retired on the last day of the calendar year in which they attain the age of 75 years? Yes or No.”

Mifflin County Polling Places

Ø Armagh Township (new) — Siglerville Baseball Association, 1122 Locke Mills Road, Milroy.

Ø Armagh Township (old) — Milroy Hose Co. No. 1, 190 College Ave., Milroy.

Ø Bratton Township — Longfellow Playground Building, 2216 state Route 103 North, Lewistown.

Ø Brown Township — Brown Township Building, 7748 state Route 655, Reedsville.

Ø Burnham Borough — Walnut Street United Methodist Church, 203 N. Walnut St., Burnham.

Ø Decatur Township (east) — Decatur Township Building, 100 Snook Road, McClure.

Ø Decatur Township (west) — Decatur Firemen’s Cookhouse, 4379 U.S. 522 North, Lewistown.

Ø Derry Township (east) — Ohesson Senior Living Community, 276 Green Ave., Lewistown.

Ø Derry Township (north) — Burnham Church of the Brethren, 541 E. Freedom Ave., Burnham.

Ø Derry Township (south) — Rhodes Memorial Methodist Church, 500 Highland Ave., Lewistown.

Ø Derry Township (west) — Derry Township Senior Center, 15 W. Mill St., Yeagertown.

Ø Granville Township (east) — Granville Township Building, 100 Helen St., Lewistown.

Ø Granville Township (west) — West Granville Fire Co., 8392 U.S. 522 South, Lewistown.

Ø Juniata Terrace Borough — Juniata Terrace Borough Building, 80 Hudson Ave., Lewistown.

Ø Kistler Borough — Kistler Elementary School, 154 School St., Mount Union.

Ø Lewistown Borough (central) — Mifflin County Library, 123 N. Wayne St., Lewistown.

Ø Lewistown Borough (north) — Grace United Methodist Church, 101 Logan St., Lewistown.

Ø Lewistown Borough (south) — Asher’s Chocolates, 19 E. Susquehanna Ave., Lewistown.

Ø Lewistown Borough (west) — Goss Terrace community room, Goss Terrace, Lewistown.

Ø McVeytown Borough — McVeytown Borough Building, 10 N. Queen St., McVeytown.

Ø Menno Township — Menno Township Building, 39 Water St., Allensville.

Ø Newton Hamilton Borough — Newton Wayne Fire Co. banquet hall, Front Street, Newton Hamilton.

Ø Oliver Township — Oliver Township Building, 4670 U.S. 522 South, McVeytown.

Ø Union Township — Former Union Elementary School building, 95 N. Penn St. Rear, Belleville.

Ø Wayne Township — Country Crossroads Senior Citizen Center, 3071 Ferguson Valley Road, McVeytown.

Juniata County Polling Locations

Ø Beale Township — Beale Township Fire Co., 2051 Cider Press Road, Port Royal.

Ø Delaware Township — Delaware Township Municipal Building, 815 Quarry Road, McAlisterville.

Ø Fayette Township — Fayette Fire Co. hall, 461 Main St., McAlisterville.

Ø Fermanagh Township — Fermanagh Township Building, 109 Municipal Road, Mifflintown.

Ø Greenwood Township — Greenwood Township Building, 13846 state Route 235, Millerstown.

Ø Lack Township — Lack Township Building, 3030 Berry Ridge Road, East Waterford.

Ø Mifflin Borough — Mifflin Fire Co. annex, 24 Main St., Mifflin.

Ø Mifflintown Borough — Mifflintown Borough Building, 100 Cross St., Mifflintown.

Ø Milford Township — Milford Township Building, 10596 Licking Creek Road, Mifflintown.

Ø Monroe Township — Richfield Senior Citizens Center, 11 Snyder Heights Lane, Richfield.

Ø Port Royal Borough — Port Royal Community Hall, 212 Fourth St., Port Royal.

Ø Spruce Hill Township — Spruce Hill Grange Hall, 20378 state Route 75 South, Port Royal.

Ø Susquehanna Township — Former Susquehanna Township Elementary School, 2024 Turkey Valley Road, Liverpool.

Ø Thompsontown Borough — Thompsontown Ambulance League building, 100 State St., Thompsontown.

Ø Turbett Township — Turbett Grange Hall, 12561 state Route 333, Port Royal.

Ø Tuscarora Township (East Waterford district) — East Waterford Fire Co., 9607 state Route 75 South, Honey Grove.

Ø Tuscarora Township (Tuscarora district) — Tuscarora Township Building, 12988 state Route 75 South, Honey Grove.

Ø Walker Township — Walker Grange Hall annex, 6611 William Penn Highway, Mifflintown.