Everybody in

YEAGERTOWN – All four municipalities served by the Mifflin County Regional Police Department have voted to accept settlement agreement with the Lewistown Borough.

During meetings on Monday night the supervisors of Brown, Derry, and Union townships and the Burnham Borough Council voted to allow MCRPD to enter into the settlement agreement with Lewistown Borough. John McCullough, chairman for the Derry Township Supervisors, said the agreement still needs to be ratified by the MCRPD Board of Directors, which is expected to happen at a special meeting Thursday night.

During a special meeting of the Lewistown Borough Council meeting April 9, the council voted to send a letter to the MCRPD Board of Directors regarding the payment of pension plans. In the letter the council asked for 90 days to pay the amount. MCRPD had provided police service to Lewistown Borough until the borough council voted in the summer of 2010 to end the borough’s relationship with MCRPD and to form its own police department that went into service on Jan. 1, 2011.

All townships served by MCRPD had to accept the agreement before it could be brought to a vote by the MCRPD Board of Directors.

If the MCRPD Board of Directors votes to approve the agreement, the 90-day repayment period for Lewistown Borough will begin immediately.