Mayor breaks deadlock vote for Lewistown Borough Council vice president

LEWISTOWN – Lewistown Mayor Deborah Bargo presided over the first part of the meeting of the Lewistown Borough Council Monday night, while the council nominated and voted on a new president and vice president.

The members of council nominated both new Council Member Mark Lawson and the 2013 Council President Russ Rager, for president of the 2014 council. Rager received three votes from council members Gregg O’Donnell, Matt Moore and John Adams, while Lawson received one vote from council member Larry Searer. With the final vote being three-to-one for Rager, he will once again serve as council president.

Members of council then nominated Lawson, Moore, and O’Donnell for the position of vice president of the council. Lawson received no votes, while Moore and O’Donnell tied with two votes each. O’Donnell and Adams voted for Moore, while Rager and Moore voted for O’Donnell, Searer cast a no vote for O’Donnell. Bargo had to break the tie between O’Donnell and Moore.

“Both would be excellent as a vice president,” Bargo said. “It is a difficult decision between the two of them.”

After a few minutes Bargo decided to vote for Moore to give him a chance to try the vice president position.

The council also appointed the following people to board positions:

Bargo as voting representative for the Council of Governments of Mifflin County, with Moore being the alternate

Bargo as the representative to Fame EMS Board of Directors

Resident Jones Marker to the Municipal Authority

Residents Lisa Baitsell, Robert Liddle, Donald Rothermel, Michael Spahr, James Tunall, and Fred Thompson to the Police Advisory Board

Residents Ellen O’Donnell and Matthew Webb to the Recreation Board

Resident Dr. John Bauman will once again act as chairman of the Vacancy Board

The council also decided to postpone appointments to the position left open with the resignation of Lee Bollinger at the Dec. 30 meeting, until the position could be advertised for one week so those in the community interested could apply. A special meeting will be held later in the month for the council to appoint and vote to fill the position.

Rager ended the meeting by saying he would like to have another year like this past year.

“I will try to do another good job this year, as president,” Rager said. “I always try to keep the borough interest as the most important.”

The Lewistown Borough Council meets at 5:30 p.m. the second Monday of each month at the Lewistown Borough Hall.