Juniata County voters to pick nominees for district judge, sheriff

MIFFLINTOWN – Three candidates are running for magisterial district judge in the May 21 municipal primary election in Mifflintown.

The three cross-filed candidates are Tara Ebright Swartz, Gerald “Bub” Walton and incumbent Barbara M. Lyter. The district covers Delaware, Fayette, Fermanagh, Greenwood, Monroe, Susquehanna townships and Mifflintown and Thompsontown boroughs. District judges serve a six year term.

Longtime Juniata County Sheriff H. Thomas Lyter, a Democrat, has a challenger for the November municipal election, Republican Glenn S. Kerstetter, a former corrections officer and current chief of Fayette Township EMS.

Other county row offices on the ballot are register and recorder, for which incumbent Alicia Anstine Seigler, a Republican, is running unopposed, and treasurer, for which incumbent Sandra Fairman King is also running unopposed for the Republican nomination.

Four seats are up on the Juniata County School Board:

There are two candidates from Region 1, Monroe Township, Larry Rothrock, who has cross-filed and Republican Randy L. Dressler.

Joseph R. Shearer has cross-filed in Region 8, which encompasses Port Royal Borough, Spruce Hill and Turbett townships.

John G. Noss has cross-filed in Region 9, for Lack and Tuscarora townships.

Region 4, Walker Township is also on the ballot, and there are no candidates.

In addition, voters will also elect a variety of positions for municipal offices including township supervisors, tax collectors, judges of elections, inspectors of elections and auditors. A complete list will be posted online at www.lewistownsentinel.com and will appear in the voters’ guide which will be published on May 17.