Rager to lead council

LEWISTOWN – Lewistown Borough Council approved vice president Russ Rager to take responsibilities of president at its regular meeting on Monday after the council accepted the letter of resignation of Council President James Felmlee with regret after his close to 18 years of service.

Councilman Gregg O’Donnell was elected by the council to take Rager’s place as vice president.

The council approved the advertising of the open council seat and is currently accepting applications.

Lewistown Police Chief Bill Herkert and Councilman Larry Searer discussed parking ticket issues and the council came to a conclusion to approve a motion to enforce a $15 ticket charge for cars illegally parked in the borough overnight, starting Feb. 1.

Mayor Deb Bargo spoke about another successful Chip Drop on New Year’s Eve and commended City Hook and Ladder for its contributions at the event.

Council selected Matt Moore, John Adams and Gregg O’Donnell to be a part of and start the formation of a search committee for a new fire chief.

In other business, the board:

Approved a motion to execute the PennVest payment request No. 3 for $795,570.49 for the Waste Water Treatment Plant Nutrient Reduction Upgrade Project.

Approved a motion for authorization of borough officers to execute the Supplemental Police Services Agreement with the Mifflin County Housing Authority for 2013.

Approved facility use for the Kid Connection and the Mifflin County Soccer Club

Lewistown Borough Council normally meets at 5:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Monday of each month at the Municipal Building at the corner of Third and Main streets in Lewistown. The next meeting is scheduled for Jan. 28.