Commissioners approve agenda

LEWISTOWN – During a brief business meeting on Thursday, the Mifflin County Commissioners approved the following agenda items:

A request to extend the Mifflin County Criminal Justice Advisory Board prison re-entry initative grant an additional three months from March 31 to June 30.

Allocation of the following Community Service Block Grant Funds for 2013: Shelter Services Inc., $28,572 for mass shelter services; Shelter Services Inc., $4,757 for intake shelter services; Shelter Services Inc., $14,800 for rent and utilities; Mifflin-Juniata Human Services, $7,808 for administration; Mifflin-Juniata Human Services, $17,326 for the special projects coordinator; and United Way of Mifflin-Juniata, $4,825 for the case manager facilitator.

Purchase of service agreement for use, if needed by Children & Youth, with NHS Youth Services Inc., of Harrisburg.

The following appointments/re-appointments to the Hazard Mitigation Steering Committee: John McCullough, Mifflin County COG; Jim Tunall, Juniata River Valley Chamber of Commerce; Wilda Fisher, Shelter Services Inc.; Robert Henry, Juniata Valley Behavioral and Developmental Services; Rex Fink, Lewistown Borough zoning officer; Craig Wheeler, Lewistown Hospital; John Czerniakowski, retired, Mifflin County School District; Steve Schaaf, Mifflin County School District; and Pat Shoop, Fame EMS.

Hired Kyle Milliron as a part-time public safety telecommunicator effective Jan. 1.

Hired Stephanie Neff as second deputy treasurer effective Jan. 7.